No New Funding…but Call for Greater Preschool Access

My Capstone students this term are working in a variety of field placements, including two placements with early childhood learning.  For this reason, I’ve been keeping an eye out for articles on preschool and kindergarten in Oregon.  This recent Portland Tribune article confirmed my suspicions: too few low income kids in Oregon have access to high quality early childhood learning, and this includes preschool and full-day kindergarten programs.

One thing that really stood out to me is that Kitzhaber is calling for renewed support for early childhood education with no increased funding for this effort.  While I don’t think Kitzhaber is to blame, I wonder if this is as upsetting to others as it is to me.  The call to create even stronger educational programs with a budget that has remained virtually stagnant for the past 20 years feels offensive and ridiculous.  I do think that it’s possible to do more with less…but is this call to educators to try harder with no more money or support a slap in the face?

As usual, I’d love to hear your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

