How Do U.S. Tax Policies Impact Education?

In light of the recent Occupy PSU walkout and political action (in which students and professors commented on rising education costs, lack of financial aid, lack of jobs, inequity in access to higher education, etc.), I’ve been once again thinking about school funding.  One of the best weeks of the class that I teach (for me, at least) is the week that we discuss school funding.  There is so little knowledge about how schools are funded that the school funding week is an eye opener for most.  And it’s a chance to spread knowledge that ultimately impacts voting pretty directly.

I was driving home the other day and listening to a great story on Fresh Air titled “Did U.S. Tax Policies Increase Economic Inequality?”  I think I’m going to add this interview to the mix when I do my teaching on the tax system and funding.  I offer this article up (if you haven’t heard it already) as a good starting point for asking more questions and getting more informed about tax policies…and ultimately thinking about how knowing about taxes can make us all better voters for kids and schools.

-Zapoura

Leave a Reply

