How to Fit Education Activism into Your Daily Life

One of the things that I want to focus on in 2012 is small but significant ways to fit activism into my own life.  This thinking about my own activism has also inspired reflection on how to help others fit action into daily life as well.  Here are some steps for getting started:

  • Provide Feedback:  For example, read Oregon’s draft of the NCLB waiver application and provide feedback that will help in revisions before submission.
  • Volunteer as Part of a Large Group:  This year, nine Oregon universities are coming together to work on the MLK holiday at Roosevelt High School in a day of service.  You can register here.
  • Volunteer Individually:  Think about making volunteer work a weekly affair.  Check out Hands on Portland’s project calendar for ideas about how to get started.
  • Join an Organization: Look into Stand for Children or the Chalkboard Project’s Citizen Corps. Being part of an organization like these allows you to be active within an organized system of people that is already in place.
  • Keep Informed and Keep Talking:  I will be posting this week’s “Tiny Reading Collection” on Thursday.  Keep reading and talking with your friends and family members.  For those of you who have subscribed to this blog (and who may be concerned about getting emails with each enthusiastic post), do note that you can shift your subscription settings and receive just one summary email a week with blog postings from PDXEAN!

3 thoughts on “How to Fit Education Activism into Your Daily Life

  1. I blame you, Zapoura–for all the conversations I have had in the past few weeks surrounding education. While I may not be commenting, I wanted to let you know I appreciate your posts (and your guest post) keeping me updated and motivated.

  2. Haha! Faylao, this comment makes my day! I’m glad that I’m not the only one bringing this stuff up at dinner parties, at the breakfast table, over coffee, etc.! Seriously though, these kinds of conversations are what helps us all become more informed and more able to act in thoughtful ways, yes?

    I’d love you to be a guest poster about your own volunteer experiences, especially at Parkrose. Email me if you’re interested…and please keep commenting. It’s nice to know that people are reading and have things to say!

    • I’m glad it made your day–I was sort of hoping it would! Yes, I agree..I wish more people would have these conversations. I definitely comment when I can.

Leave a Reply

