Teachers Need Support TO Support (by Paige Talbot)

owlteacherIf you have kids or know kids, you have probably had a thought about their future in some manner or another. When I see kids, I see their unlocked potential. However, for some children, that potential may stay locked up due to lack of support or resources. In lower income school districts in Oregon, this is something that I believe can be rectified. Wealthier school districts are wealthy because of property taxes going to those school districts specifically. But if those taxes were spread equally to all school districts, and districts were able to budget appropriately for education to become a top priority, then each student in every district could potentially reach their academic goals. The general public is “…in favor of higher starting salaries for public school teachers, to the tune of $43,000, about $7,000 more than the average starting salary of education majors graduating in 2009” (Long).

Teachers really should have a higher pay grade. Doctors save lives; therefore they should make a decent amount of money to encourage them to do their job well. Teachers are truthfully not all that different from doctors. They save lives too, but not in the sense that students are dying. Students crave information and challenges to overcome. But students also need support and encouragement to chase their dreams and push their limits. I had a teacher in high school that kept me in the honors program when I felt that I couldn’t possibly achieve good grades in the more difficult classes. My final GPA wasn’t a 4.0, but I was so proud of myself and I definitely owe that pride in part to my teacher Mrs. Gorka.

There are people out there that agree with this, please see the link below to learn more. Anyway, my point is that teachers are an integral piece to successful education, and having a community that supports teachers allows those same teachers to unequivocally support the students who desperately need their guidance and gentle nudges.

**Link for more information: http://www.nea.org/home/35916.htm

Leave a Reply

